# PENNINGTON BOROUGH COUNCIL REORGANIZATION MEETING January 4, 2021 - 7:00 pm

**Call to Order** - Mayor Lawver

Roll Call – Borough Clerk – Betty Sterling

<b>O</b>	;	.:	B.4	N A'II	-		
I I Chandler	Gnatt	(irittithe	Marciante	Mills	Semple	Lawver	1
Chanaci	Onatt	Gillius	Warolanto	IVIIIIO	Ocmpic	Lawvei	İ

## **Open Public Meetings Statement**

Notice of this meeting has been given to the Hopewell Valley News, Trenton Times and Trentonian and was posted on the bulletin board in Borough Hall and on the Borough website according to the regulations of the Open Public Meetings Act.

## Flag Salute

# **Invocation**

Reverend Joe Jeung

# Open to the Public - Agenda Items Only

Meeting open to public for comments on items on the agenda for which no public discussion is provided. In an effort to provide everyone interested an opportunity to address his or her comments to the Governing Body, a public comment time limit has been instituted for each speaker. Please come forward and state your name and address for the record. Please limit comments to the Governing Body to a maximum of 3 minutes.

### **Mayor's Business**

• Proclamation – Glen Griffiths

### **Election Results**

- Council Catherine Chandler 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Council Kennen Gross 3 year term ending December 31, 2023

### Adjournment of 2020 Council – (Motion/Second)

Oaths of Office Administered by Borough Attorney to the newly elected Council Members.

## Roll call of 2021 Council

Chandler	Gnatt		Gross		Marciante		Mills		Semp	ole		Lawver	
----------	-------	--	-------	--	-----------	--	-------	--	------	-----	--	--------	--

## **Election of Council President** (Nomination/motion, second, vote.)

### **Annual Resolutions**

#### RESOLUTION 2021-1.1

RESOLUTION APPOINTING HODULIK AND MORRISON AS BOROUGH AUDITOR FOR THE YEAR 2021

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.2**

RESOLUTION APPOINTING EDWARD J. MCMANIMON AS BOND COUNSEL FOR THE YEAR 2021

### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.3**

RESOLUTION APPOINTING WALTER R. BLISS, JR.AS BOROUGH ATTORNEY FOR THE YEAR 2021

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.4**

RESOLUTION APPOINTING CRAIG J. HUBERT AS CHIEF MUNICIPAL PROSECUTOR FOR THE YEAR 2021

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.5**

RESOLUTION APPOINTING ALTERNATE PROSECUTORS FOR THE YEAR 2021

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.6**

RESOLUTION APPOINTING RICHARD KELLY AS PUBLIC DEFENDER FOR THE YEAR 2021

### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.7**

RESOLUTION APPOINTING PATRICK NEMES AS ALTERNATE PUBLIC DEFENDER FOR THE YEAR 2021

## **RESOLUTION 2021-1.8**

RESOLUTION APPOINTING EILEEN HEINZEL AS JOINT INSURANCE FUND COMMISSIONER FOR A PERIOD OF ONE YEAR FROM JANUARY 1 THROUGH DECEMBER 31, 2021

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.9**

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING APPOINTMENT AND TENURE OF SUPERINTENTENDENT OF PUBLIC WORKS

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.10**

RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING THE REGULAR MEETING SCHEDULE FOR THE BOROUGH COUNCIL FOR THE YEAR 2021

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.11**

RESOLUTION OF THE BOROUGH COUNCIL OF THE BOROUGH OF PENNINGTON FOR THE YEAR 2021

Official Depositories Official Newspaper Official Newspapers for Notifications Mayor as Authorized Representative Official Signatories

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.12**

#### RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL FOR 2021

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.13**

#### RESOLUTION RE-ESTABLISHING THE HOPEWELL VALLEY GREEN TEAM

#### **RESOLUTION 2021-1.14**

RESOLUTION FIXING THE RATE OF INTEREST AND YEAR–END PENALTY FOR DELINQUENT REAL ESTATE TAX PAYMENTS AND DELINQUENT WATER AND SEWER PAYMENTS IN 2018 AND FURTHER AUTHORIZING THE TAX COLLECTOR TO EXTEND THE GRACE PERIOD FOR THE 3<sup>RD</sup> QUARTER TAX AND WATER AND SEWER PAYMENTS FOR 2021 IF NECESSARY

#### **RESOLUTION 2020-1.15**

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CANCELLATION OF TAX BALANCES UNDER \$10.00

## MAYORS APPOINTMENTS/RE-APPOINTMENTS TO LOCAL BOARDS

## **Planning Board**

- Joseph Lawver Mayor 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Eileen Heinzel Borough Official 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Debra Gnatt Council Representative 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Cara Laitusis moving from Alternate 1 to Regular Member to an unexpired term ending December 31, 2023
- Seoung Kwak moving from Alternate 2 to Alternate 1 for a new term ending December 31, 2022
- Jeanne Van Orman appointed as Alternate 1 for a term ending December 31, 2022

## **Economic Development**

- Andy Hamlin appointed to an unexpired term ending December 31, 2022
- Chris Murphy re-appointed to 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Janice Mintz re-appointed to 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Council Representative Kit Chandler to December 31, 2021

## **Environmental Commission**

- William Alexander re-appointed to 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Nadine Stern appointed to a 2 year term as Alternate 1 for a term ending December 31, 2022
- Council Representative Kit Chandler to December 31, 2021

## **Open Space Committee**

- John Jackson re-appointed as Alternate 1 for a 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Art Firestone re-appointed as Alternate 2 for a 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Council Representative Deborah Gnatt to December 31, 2021

# **Hopewell Valley Open Space Committee**

- Dan Pace appointed to a 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Alan Hershey appointed to a 1 year term ending December 31, 2021

# APPOINTMENTS/RE-APPOINTMENTS TO LOCAL BOARDS – (WITH COUNCIL APPROVAL)

# Parks and Recreation (w/Council Approval)

- John Bowden re-appointed to a 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Tom Flood re-appointed to a 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Brett Margulis re-appointed to a 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Elise Thompson appointed to a 3 year term ending
- Council Representative Liz Semple to December 31, 2021

## **Board of Health (w/Council Approval)**

- Susan Perris re-appointed to a 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Toni Lewis re-appointed to a 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Council Representative Ken Gross to December 31, 2021

# **Library Board of Trustees (w/Council Approval)**

- Joe Bielamowicz re-appointed to a 5 year term ending December 31, 2025
- Meredith Coleman Moore appointed to a 5 year term ending December 31, 2025
- Diane Zompa re-appointed as Mayor's Representative to a 1 year term ending December 31, 2021
- Council Representative Beverly Mills to December 31, 2021

## **Shade Tree Commission (w/Council Approval)**

- Christopher Brookes re-appointed to a 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Michael Rheinhardt re-appointed to a 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Kate Dunham appointed to a 3 year term ending December 31, 2023
- Council Representative Liz Semple to December 31, 2021

#### Senior Advisory Board (w/Council Approval)

- Nancy Breland re-appointed to a 2 year term ending December 31, 2022
- Council Representative Mayor Joseph Lawver to December 31, 2021

### <u>Historic Preservation Commission (w/Council Approval)</u>

- David Coates re-appointed as a Class C Member for a 4 year term ending December 31, 2024
- Barbara Kirsh re-appointed as a Class C Member for a 4 year term ending December 31, 2024
- Hannah Williams re-appointed as Class C Alternate 2 for a 2 year term ending December 31, 2022
- Council Representative Beverly Mills to December 31, 2021

### Adjournment